Apartments, excursions and transfers: +420 775 100 900

Konigstein Castle

Castle Königstein (Germany)  is one of the biggest mountain fortresses in Europe. It stands in the middle of the Elbe Sandstone Mountains and overlooks above the town of Königstein. In total, the fortress has more than 50 buildings. The length of the fortress walls is 1800 meters. In some places their height is 42 meters. The castle has the deepest well in Saxony and the second deepest in Europe (152.5 m).

The earliest references (among discivered) to Königstein are found in a document dating back to 1233. Despite its fearsome appearance, the fortress Königstein has never had any special military importance, but nevertheless, it has played a significant role in the history of Saxony. Saxon dukes and electors took refugees here during the war. For example, during the Dresden rebellion in 1849. During the Seven Years' War (1756-1763 biennium) the Elector Frederick Augustus II (1696 -1763) was watching helplessly as from the other side of the Elbe River by the Lilienshtayn mountain foot, his army surrendered without a fight to the Prussian troops. During war times all the royal treasures and secret archives of Saxony were transported here. Twice, in 1756 and 1813 masterpieces of art from museums and collections of Dresden were taken to the fortress Königstein. In particular,galleries treasures were here also during the Second World War. Elector Friedrich August II inherited from his father's passion for art and luxury. He kept a brilliant court and spent enormous sums for the purchase of paintings of the Dresden Gallery and other famous museums, as well as the maintenance of the court chapel. The fortress was used as a resting place for hunting and other entertainment. Königstein had been also visited by the Russian Emperor Peter I (1672-1725).

 

In 1516-1524 in Königstein  Célestins monastery was located. At the beginning of the XVIII century alchemist Böttger, prisoned in fortress, was first in Europe being able to get porcelain, which was considered as  the beginning of production of the famous Meissen porcelain. The development of long-range artillery leveled the protective function of a fortress and it was turned into a prison. During both world wars, the fortress became a concentration camp As the open-air museum the complex has been opened to the public since 1955. Castle is a popular tourist destination. It has a restaurant, gift shop and military-historical museum exposition.

Number of persons 1 2 3 4 5 6
Car 100 100 100
Car VIP 100 100 100
Мinivan 100 100 100 100 100 100

Заказ апартаментов, экскурсий и трансферов по телефону +420 775 100 900

Крепость Кёнигштайн

Крепость Кёнигштайн (Königstein) — одна из самых больших горных крепостей Европы. Стоит она посреди Эльбских Песчаниковых гор и возвышается над городом Кёнигштайном. Всего на территории крепости находится более 50 сооружений. Длина крепостных стен достигает 1800 метров. В некоторых местах их высота составляет 42 метра. В крепости находится самый глубокий колодец Саксонии и второй по глубине Европы (152,5 м).

Самое раннее упоминание (из обнаруженных) о Кёнигштайне обнаружено в грамоте датируемой 1233 г. Несмотря на свой грозный вид, крепость Кёнигштайн особого военного значения никогда не имела, но тем не менее, она сыграла существенную роль в истории Саксонии. Саксонские герцоги и курфюрсты укрывались здесь в военное время. Например, во время Дрезденского восстания 1849 года. Во время Семилетней войны (1756—1763 гг.) курфюрст Фридрих Август II (1696 -1763) беспомощно наблюдал, как по ту сторону Эльбы у подножия горы Лилиенштайн его армия без боя сдалась прусским войскам. На время войн сюда перевозили королевские сокровища и тайные архивы Саксонии. Дважды, в 1756 и 1813 (Семилетняя война и война с Наполеоном соответственно), в крепость Кёнигштайн вывозили шедевры искусства из музеев и собраний Дрездена. В том числе, здесь были в безопасности сокровища галереи и во время Второй мировой войны. Курфюрст Фридрих Август II унаследовал от своего отца страсть к роскоши и искусству. Он содержал блестящий двор и тратил громадные суммы на приобретение картин Дрезденской галереи и других знаменитых музеев, а также на содержание придворной капеллы. Крепость использовали как пристанище для охоты и других развлечений. Кёнигштайн посещал Российский император Пётр I (1672—1725).

В 1516-1524 гг. в Кёнигштайне действовал целестинский монастырь. В начале XVIII в. алхимик Бёттгер, заключённый в кёнигштайнской крепости, первым в Европе смог получить фарфор, что положило начало производству знаменитого мейсенского фарфора. Развитие дальнобойной артиллерии нивелировало защитную функцию крепости и её превратили в тюрьму. Во время обеих мировых войн крепость становилась лагерем для военнопленных. Как музей под открытым небом комплекс открыт для публики с 1955 г. Замок является популярным туристическим местом. Здесь имеются ресторан, магазин сувениров, оборудована военно-историческая музейная экспозиция.

Цена: по запросу

Продолжительность: по запросу

Начало экскурсии: по запросу